SH 0rigins: A Shakespearean Template?

Truck drivin' Travis detours into Silent Hill. Tree Top Tall & Wall-to-Wall, Good Buddy.

Moderator: Moderators

MisterGrey
Cafe5to2 Waitress

SH 0rigins: A Shakespearean Template?

Post by MisterGrey »

Playing through Silent Hill 0rigins, one will encounter a variety of ghastly ghoulies that spring forth from the mind of our protagonist, Travis Grady. A trucker by trade, he appears to us, in the opening stages of the game, to be the quintessential "good ol' boy," a hard living man trying to make his way in the world through honest work and honest living. He doesn't hesitate to rush into a burning home to save a child, and despite not knowing the girl, feels compelled to check on her well being by travelling to the hospital where she was taken. We are given little insight into Travis' intellect, however, until much later in the game: Artraud Theatre.

At two points in Artraud Theatre, the player witnesses what they believe to be flashbacks to Alessa viewing the play. The first of these flashbacks features the actor playing Prospero in "The Tempest," Tony, getting a nosebleed during a scene with Miranda. The second flashback is a soliloquy delivered by the actor playing Caliban.

At first glimpse, it is easy to accept that these are merely glimpses into Alessa's troubled past. However, upon further examination, the possibility arises that these are Travis' flashbacks, not Alessa's, and that they form the basis for his Otherworld.