Problems with Silent Hill on PS3

Have you seen Harry's daughter anywhere? Short, dark hair?

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
Pyramid
Cafe5to2 Waitress
Posts: 158
Joined: 12 Mar 2006
Location: Otherside/Nowhere
Contact:

Post by Pyramid »

Varshes wrote: My intention wasn't to whine about it, sure I have a PS1 and a PS2 I could play it in, I was merely reporting it. I've transfered all of my PS1 and PS2 saves to my PS3, doing this it could be a one-stop PS gaming machine, and I could save space by only having my PS3 out.
Youre right, you weren't whining, I chose my words badly, so sorry about that.

Didn't meant to be rude.
[img]http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j238/jeffrey_only/SHsingnature1new.png[/img]
User avatar
xlespaul420x
Just Passing Through
Posts: 119
Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Location: 7o3, Virginia

Post by xlespaul420x »

lol good thing you posted this, i thought my ps3 was just messing up with my old games. but yeah, everytime i fire the handgun at those terodactyl things, that screeching thing goes on until i load a new screen or something
[img]http://img117.imageshack.us/img117/7871/jamesph001ln0.jpg[/img]
User avatar
OrlandoEastwood
Cafe5to2 Waitress
Posts: 159
Joined: 29 Jan 2007
Location: Honolulu - Hilo, Hawai'i
Contact:

Post by OrlandoEastwood »

It would be smart if Sony would just get the game and see how many of the Silent Hill Games they could fit on 1 Blu-Ray disc. So then More Americans can get lazy by not getting up to switch the discs and then give Sony more money.
www.orlandoeastwoodfilms.tk // http://orlando-eastwood.tripod.com
[url=http://www.youtube.com/user/OrlandoEastwoodFilms?feature=mhw4#p/a]Click here to view the Teaser Trailer & Behind the Scenes footage of [i]Trauma[/i]![/url]
User avatar
Krysta
Woodside Apartments Janitor
Posts: 1096
Joined: 29 May 2006
Gender: Male
Location: Mormons HQ
Contact:

Post by Krysta »

Appears that Euro PS3 will have yet smaller compatibility with PS2 games. Sony said once 100% backwartd compatibility and now they chokin with it
User avatar
Lifetolifeless
My Bestsellers Clerk
Posts: 325
Joined: 10 Nov 2005
Location: Seattle

Post by Lifetolifeless »

The backward compatibility won't necessarily be smaller for European PS3s, it'll just be handled in a different way. In order to make the system approximately 6% cheaper, Sony will be excluding the physical components necessary for hardware-based backward compatibility in favor of the relatively cheap -- yet more versatile (though far from verbatim) -- process of software emulation. Basically they're doing exactly what they had always ripped on Micrsoft for doing.


Patience is the darkest side of power.
User avatar
HeresJohnny
My Bestsellers Clerk
Posts: 342
Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Gender: Male

Post by HeresJohnny »

For as much as the damn thing costs it should at least make waffles or see the future.
User avatar
Scarlet
Historical Society Historian
Posts: 4987
Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Location: Pits of Hell

Post by Scarlet »

That really pisses me off... needing software updates to make the games compatible. I still have PS1 and PS2, but what if my PS2 dies on me? Will I have to buy another one just to be able to play my games? Sony should have thought about it seriously and not try to fix things by using some kind of emulator.... :evil:
User avatar
Mis Krist.
Historical Society Historian
Posts: 12943
Joined: 27 Aug 2003
Location: The Wand'ring Wood

Post by Mis Krist. »

OrlandoEastwood wrote:It would be smart if Sony would just get the game and see how many of the Silent Hill Games they could fit on 1 Blu-Ray disc. So then More Americans can get lazy by not getting up to switch the discs and then give Sony more money.
You do realize that you're American, too? Hawaii's part of the States.

From everything that I've heard about these new consoles, I don't want them at all. I probably won't even by SH5 until the price goes down and I have free time for it. I'm just not that interested in games these days... so little out there intrigues me.
I'm not dead yet, dammit.
User avatar
extreme-nero
Hope House Careworker
Posts: 732
Joined: 19 Feb 2007
Location: Midwich Elementary School

Post by extreme-nero »

From everything that I've heard about these new consoles, I don't want them at all. I probably won't even by SH5 until the price goes down and I have free time for it. I'm just not that interested in games these days... so little out there intrigues me.
yea most of them are film license games or crap spin offs of games that have been done before and better, it makes me long for days when games companies pushed boundries with there games :roll: such metal gear solid 1 , gta 3 and dino crisis :D
Image
User avatar
Scarlet
Historical Society Historian
Posts: 4987
Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Location: Pits of Hell

Post by Scarlet »

I'm buying PS3 because I've already pre-ordered Devil May Cry, Resident Evil and Final Fantasy XIII. Since all the games will be released no sooner than 2008, I have plenty of time to buy the console. Maybe by then the price will drop and the software is working nicely.
User avatar
HuMaNoId X
Just Passing Through
Posts: 64
Joined: 19 Apr 2006

Post by HuMaNoId X »

Has anyone tried playing SH1 on the PS3 in a HDTV? The game looks HORRIBLE, I cant even see, its all pixlated and washed out, and I keep my PS3 updated always. Now SH3 looks ok, just ok not great. I have SH2 for xbox but the damn 360 won't run it, it does run SH4 but I never liked it enough to play it a 2nd time.
User avatar
Nemi79
SHH Cult Subscriber
SHH Cult Subscriber
Posts: 79
Joined: 05 Mar 2007
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by Nemi79 »

Xbox games don't run on Xbox 360 ? :shock:
That's horrible!!
Darkness lurks even in the minds of the innocente
User avatar
Lifetolifeless
My Bestsellers Clerk
Posts: 325
Joined: 10 Nov 2005
Location: Seattle

Post by Lifetolifeless »

Nemi79 wrote:Xbox games don't run on Xbox 360 ? :shock:
That's horrible!!
The original Xbox's graphics chip was made by Nvidia, while the 360's is made by ATI, so the only old games that will work for this generation are the ones they spend the time to emulate. Not terribly exciting.

And yes, Humanoid, I know exactly what you're talking about. SH1 looks like rocks in a blender on an HDTV, and the situation only worsens with the PS3. Better display capabilities magnify the increased discrepancy between source resolutions.


Patience is the darkest side of power.
Lemex
Gravedigger
Posts: 465
Joined: 04 Oct 2006

Post by Lemex »

Awwww :'( this sucks ass!
I wan't them to remake it!
Just snaz up the graphics, and realise it for the PS3 nothing more
User avatar
Dr. Gordon
Rosewater Park Attendant
Posts: 1378
Joined: 27 Aug 2005
Gender: Male
Location: Philadelphia
Contact:

Post by Dr. Gordon »

well, at least I know now that I should hold on to my PS2. Any way you could take some pictures to show what it looks like on the PS3?
Back off man, I'm a scientist.
Image
User avatar
Lifetolifeless
My Bestsellers Clerk
Posts: 325
Joined: 10 Nov 2005
Location: Seattle

Post by Lifetolifeless »

As with the positive aspects of high definition television, engine handling flaws -- which the PS2's not completely devoid of either -- aside, the nastiness with SH1 on the PS3/HDTV combo is directly and exclusively characteristic of the way the HDTV itself presents the image. Some sets are worse than others, but most monitors could scale the image to look just fine, so an image on a monitor truly wouldn't illustrate much.


Patience is the darkest side of power.
Deathrow
Just Passing Through
Posts: 46
Joined: 14 Apr 2007

Post by Deathrow »

Hopefully silent hill 5 will be for 360 since 360 is becoming really popular to more and more company's now. Even capcom have noticed the sucess of 360. I guess i will 'eventually' get the PS3, but not untill like........5 years from now when its dropped £150.
butters
Cafe5to2 Waitress
Posts: 283
Joined: 24 Apr 2006

Re: Problems with Silent Hill on PS3

Post by butters »

Varshes wrote:I decided to try playing Silent Hill on my PS3, if for nothing but the freedom of a decent wireless controller. Much to my dismay there is a big problem with the game on PS3. The first time I fired the handgun, this very loud and annoying buzzing sound started which does not go away until you switch areas. This makes the game totally unplayable. Makes me sad. :(
After reading this, I tried SH on my PS3 that I recently bought. It only started buzzing when I shot an enemy, but either way, it sucks. I also tried Tomb Raider 4 on it, and the graphics were noticeably more blocky than usual. I'll probably just play all my old games on the PS2.
Myrrh Macho Sehr Gacho
User avatar
Scarlet
Historical Society Historian
Posts: 4987
Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Location: Pits of Hell

Post by Scarlet »

Same problem here. SH1 is just TERRIBLE! I have an HD TV and I couldn't be worst! I'll keep playing in my PS2 because it's not worth to play the games on PS3. This disappoints me a lot.
User avatar
freako104
Cafe5to2 Waitress
Posts: 269
Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Gender: Male
Location: Between MD and NC

Post by freako104 »

I plan to get a PS3 at some point. I take it, I should keep my PS1 and PS2 since games seem to be worse for the PS3 or is it just SH?
Post Reply